2 mins read

Team India will adopt an aggressive approach in ODIs as well, after T20, keep an eye on the ODI series

Last Updated on 2 years by sonnysuman

After a 2-1 win in the T20 series, the ODI series between India and England will now be played. The first match of the ODI series will be played on Tuesday at the Oval in London. The match will be played at 5.30 pm Indian time. It will be a day-night match. Team India, led by Rohit Sharma, will try to beat defending champions England.

The first match of the three-match ODI series between India and England will be in the eyes of all the veterans of Team India. England is second in the ICC ODI team rankings while India is fourth in the rankings. At the moment, the England team has a number of ODI veterans like Jose Butler, Johnny Bairstow, and Jason Roy, who will pose a tough challenge to India.

Team India Opening

In the first ODI, Team India will take on an experienced opening pair of Rohit Sharma and Shikhar Dhawan. Both the batsmen will open the ODIs again after a long absence.

Waiting for Kohli’s return

The left-arm batsman continued to perform well despite limited opportunities at the international level. While playing ODIs or IPL, Dhawan is constantly running from his bat. Indian fans are waiting for Virat Kohli to return to the rhythm. He did not run out of bat in Tests and T20s on this tour. Given the team’s new approach, he will be under pressure to make runs from the first ball. With the ODI format, they will have a little more time to pick up the pace. In Sunday’s T20I match, he hit a brilliant four and a six in his six-ball innings but had to pay the price for adopting a more aggressive stance.

Return of Stokes, Root, and Bairstow

This will be Jose Butler’s first ODI series as full-time England captain since Eoin Morgan’s retirement. The team would like to see the disappointment of the T20 series here. The captain himself would like to leave the poor performance behind and get back on track. With the arrival of the likes of Ben Stokes, Joe Root, and Johnny Bairstow, the team will be much stronger.


India: Rohit Sharma (captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Ishaan Kishan, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Shreyas Aiyar, Rishabh Pant (wickets), Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Yuvendra Chahal, Akshar Patel, Jaspreet Buram Mohammad Shami, Mohammad Siraj, Arshdeep Singh.

England: Jose Butler (captain), Moin Ali, Jonathan Bairstow, Harry Brook, Bryden Cars, Sam Curran, Liam Livingstone, Craig Overton, Matt Parkinson, Joe Root, Jason Roy, Phil Salt, Ben Stokes, Reese Witherspoon, Day Willie.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *